Are We There Yet?

This is one crazy journey.

The Brandon Reis Family Benefit June 29, 2006

Filed under: Brandon,Cancer,Family — taramayrn @ 6:20 pm

Any help our family can get is appreciated – this little boy is my cousin.  If you can help in any way please contact me.

Time has become very precious for Red Deer’s 11 year old Brandon Reis, who was diagnosed with a rare form of liver cancer last summer.  Brandon’s family, friends and neighbors are devoted to having a fundraiser in August and are urgently asking our community to help get Brandon and his parents, Diane and Darrel, to a research hospital in Memphis Tennessee.

This hospital has graciously agreed to take Brandon on at no charge but the family has been told that the prescription drugs needed to maintain Brandon’s life would not be covered by Alberta Health Care.  Brandon’s parents are too proud to ask for help, but they really need donations to get Brandon to this world renowed hospital.

Brandon’s mom Diane, gave up her home based business when he became sick and his dad Darrel has rarely been at his business.  We can all imagine the monetary strain on this frightened family.  They have barely left Brandon’s side at the Alberta Children’s Hospital in Calgary.  Occassionally Brandon has been able to be at home, but continues to be rushed back to hospital due to complication.  The Reis family is exhausted both financially and spiritually and we are all very concerned.

So we are inviting our community to make donations for a silent auction and to attend a buffet and dance in Blackfalds on Saturday August 19, 2006. 

Thank you for taking the time to read this letter and to consider this critical plea.  Your support, compassion, and understanding of this request will not go unnoticed. 

 Thank you God for our amazing community….

The silent, loving and committed friends of

Brandon Joel Reis

 

7 Responses to “The Brandon Reis Family Benefit”

  1. Cliff and Sue Wilson Says:

    I just did a search for info. and came up with this. Nice job Tara! Cliff and I want to send our love and appreciation to all those who are involved in supporting the Reis family in any way they are able. Although we live in WA state, we think of them daily, and keep Brandon in our prayers.

  2. kaitlyn Says:

    hey brandon is my cuz i love him wit my heart and i wanna say tara u did a great jod with the benifit i waz there it waz awesome thanx 4 all ur care!

  3. Dakota Says:

    Hi Tara,
    Hi you did awesome report on Brandon.

    I new Brandon since kindergarten snd i stii love him i hope he gets better we donated alot of money and all my family did…
    Plz tell him that Dakota says hi and if he has a number or something i would like to talk to him..
    All my friends said he had big checks and he was really phat …

    Sincerly, Dakota
    P.S. Say that i mizz him and i havent seen him for ages around west park

  4. […] 11th, 2007 As I have posted about my 11 year old cousin, Brandon , before, I felt the need to post this.  Brandon passed away on Tuesday evening at 820 pm after his […]

  5. Danielle Says:

    hi tara,

    this is danielle, Brandon Joel Reis was a great kid still is n our hearts.What i have learned that: If you love someone it is better to let them go!!

    i luv you brandon!! &&hearts&&**kisses**

  6. Rayleen Says:

    Brandon was my best friend, me and him knew each other since the day we were born and when I went to get my haircut I would always be in a rush for it to be finished so me and Brandon could go play on the trampoline together in his backyard.
    My best friend in the world that i love forever is now gone and resting in peace no longer haveing to go threw pain…..I miss my best friend and he’ll always be in my heart.

  7. Bri-Anne Reis Says:

    Hey tara didnt know that you did this. Its nice to hear comments of my little buddy. I hope everyone can learn from Brandon just as much as my family has. We all need to live life to the fulliest, and i owe you so much brand for that. I love you soo much. I am so proud and thankfull that brandon had his friends and family support him through is herioc journey.


Leave a comment