Are We There Yet?

This is one crazy journey.

Pigeonholed June 8, 2006

Filed under: Adoption — taramayrn @ 10:33 am

I’m so pissed right now I could just spit. Why is it that when we birthmothers express our grief and try to explain to others that even though we don’t regret our decision to place, but we wish things were different, and we try and tell someone that adoption isn’t all roses we are labelled as angry and somehow that translates into being disrespectful of adoptive parents?!

WTF!!

 

3 Responses to “Pigeonholed”

  1. Anne Says:

    I hear ya. It’s kind of like I was saying to my Dad the other day that for me, it’s like some people expect me to be all happy, hunky dory all the time because I’m okay and at peace with my decision.

    So, even though I’m okay with it, I’m not allowed to grieve or have bad days dealing and coping with having placed my girls.

    It’s so freakin annoying sometimes when people act like that.

  2. Jenna. Says:

    Because someone has to be the “bad guy” and somone has to be the “hero.” The adoptive parents are the heroes as they have rescued the child from the bad guys… being us.

  3. barb Says:

    if we had nickels…

    i feel ya…i really do.


Leave a Reply

