Are We There Yet?

This is one crazy journey.

The evil that is cancer March 8, 2006

Filed under: Cancer — taramayrn @ 3:06 am

I hate cancer.  I really do…not that anyone loves it I’m sure, but man am I ever sick of cancer.  I just heard on the tv that Dana Reeves passed away from lung cancer.  Just another life that cancer has sucked away from us.  My prayers are with her son and family.

If you don’t know I work in the area of oncology and palliative care.  It’s a hard but rewarding line of work.  Lately I’ve noticed just how young our patients are.  I tell you it is rare to see a patient over the age of 70.  In this day and age of prevention sometimes you just can’t prevent cancer.  Just like many of my patients Dana Reeves didn’t smoke, she lived a healthy lifestyle.  So why?!

Let me say it again, cancer is evil. But ya know, we just keep on trudging along fighting an uphill battle against it. We do our best to make our patients’ last days painfree and comfortable – not just for them but for their families. That’s the reward of my job and that’s what keeps me coming back.

 

4 Responses to “The evil that is cancer”

  1. Shell Says:

    So sad huh? The Reeves’ son has been through so much. Their son is definately in my thoughts tonight.

    Shell

  2. Julia Says:

    I agree Tara…I can’t tell you how many loved ones I’ve lost through cancer, and many were not “old” nor were they smokers. Very scary.

  3. 1exlux Says:

    Sadly, all of us must die…

    In the book of Job God has to allow satan the amount of physical and mental pain he can place on an individual.

    Many passages in the Bible relate to life/death:

    “We must learn to take the good with the bad.”

    I have also lost very close family members to sickness/death.

    However, we must also remember that the pain these precious individuals face is also removing many long years that they would have to endure in Purgatory!
    Just as the thief on the cross, when Jesus said “Today, you will be with me in Paradise”
    Many people believe the thief was extremely lucky, not the case, his hours of extreme suffering on the cross was his penance preventing him from serving a very long stay in Purgatory.
    The above is a difficult way to come to the Lord (in our last breaths) but it is possible; why wait tho?

    Finally, not all of us will have the luxury of going to bed one night and not arising the next day.
    Most of us will become ill due to a disease or cancer, look at the terrible suffering our Lord had to face!

    -God bless

  4. Jacqueline Says:

    I just lost my mom last Sunday. I watched her suffer for almost 5 yrs. It so incredibly hard to sit and watch her whither away and do nothing. Cancer is evil and it sucks! After she died the nurses told me I could come back into her room but when I did I was so angry! That was not my mom laying there. That was a body full of cancer. That cancer stole my mom’s life! She was the strongest person I know and I am proud when people say I am just like her. I told her she didn’t have to do more chemo but she would reply that she had to see her baby raise her baby. I love my mom and miss her dearly.


Leave a Reply

